kuala-lumpur

Wish I'd kept my Colorado

By Anthony V Hayes for Toyota Hilux

In the last ten years I have owned these diesel pickups, in chronological order, Triton(2.5L), Hilux(3.0L, Colorado(2.8L) and Hilux Rogue(2.8L). In the USA I have owned three GMC Sierras crew cabs; a 1500, a 2500 and now a 2500HD Denali with a Duramax 6.6L Turbo-diesel. But back to Malaysia, in short, I should have kept my 2013 Colorado instead of buying the Rogue. But I erroneously succumbed to the belief that Toyota had risen to the occasion. I never had a problem with my Colorado, or getting regular maintenance. I would never consider a Ford. You get what you pay for. In 2014, Colorado's Duramax hit 500 Nm torque while it took 7 years for Toyota to catch up. The Rogue is a nanny truck. Too many warnings, bells, chirps, gimmick automations and disgracefully cheap audio. At 65mph, my 6.6liter gets 26 miles to the gallon while the Rogue 2.8liter only 23mpg. My Colorado got around 40mpg.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Get exclusive promotions, discounts & low-interest loan from authorized dealers Avail Offers

Tell us about the design, comfort and safety features of your vehicle. Help your friends make the right choice.

Write Review
Have a question on Hilux?

Ask from fellow Hilux Owners and Zigwheels experts

Personal Information*
+60 -
Click image to refresh
Login/Sign Up
Only your name will be displayed with your review. Your email id & mobile will not be displayed with it.
Thank you for asking the question
Your question provide useful inputs for us

Millions of people rely on the contributions like yours to decide which cars to buy

More User Reviews of Toyota Hilux

4.1
Based on 45 Review(s)
  • 5 9
  • 4 33
  • 3 3
  • 2 1
  • 1 0
Tell us your cars story

Your review will give better insights of cars

Write a Review
Popular Reviews
  • All(45)
  • Features(13)
  • Specs(16)
  • Tire(4)
  • Exterior(10)
  • Dimension(7)
  • Seats(6)
  • Mileage(21)
  • Engine(9)
  • Z
    Zulhasif Jan 24, 2023 for Toyota Hilux

    I was looking for a car that could cater to my infrequent off-roading trips, and my friend recommended Toyota Hilux. I have driven this car on the muddiest roads and dangerous tracks, and it always performs well. This car is a match made between tough utility and elegant style. It also has a ton of storage in the form of Read More

  • I
    Imran Dec 12, 2022 for Toyota Hilux

    The Toyota Hilux is one of the finest pickup trucks in the Malaysian market right now. The pickup comes with a superior build and a very stylish exterior design. It has a bold appearance and a striking presence along with premium quality interiors. The pickup offers a lot of space and a range of modern features which makes for an Read More

  • R
    Raahim Nov 29, 2022 for Toyota Hilux

    The Toyota Hilux is my new favourite for a lifestyle pickup. I bought it after a lot of research and recommendations from my friends and so far, the experience has been simply exceptional. I loved the bold and brawny build of the pickup which gives it a perfect aggressive pickup truck stance. Along with that, the pickup offers exceptional performance Read More

  • J
    John Vic Nov 24, 2022 for Toyota Hilux

    Selecting this Ute has facilitated and smoothened my life in many ways. The performance of this car is genuinely breathtaking. This is also offering heaps of low-end torque. The best part is its refined design. No matter from which angle you look at the car you will get thoroughly impressed at its design. Yet this car is disheartening me in Read More

  • J
    Junada Nov 15, 2022 for Toyota Hilux

    Hilux is my dream car and I aspire to bring it home someday. The stunning looks of the car have my whole heart. Ever since I shifted to Malaysia I have planned to buy this car while joining my current job. The most probable chance for me to bring home this car is in the next month. It has the Read More

  • C
    Chan Sep 20, 2022 for Toyota Hilux

    The Hilux is miles ahead of its competitors in terms of durability and style. While driving the Hilux, you feel like you are driving an SUV because there is immense comfort inside the cabin and the interior is quite upscale, which is a rare sight on most trucks. There is enough space in both rows and even the seats are Read More

  • A
    Aeron Aug 04, 2022 for Toyota Hilux

    The Hilux is one of the very few pickup trucks in the market that has the capacity to deliver SUV-like comfort along with immense power. Even though I generally use the Hilux to carry out load-carrying duties, I do travel inside this pickup with my family on a few occasions. The cabin comfort is great and there are ample modern Read More

  • Z
    Zayana Jul 04, 2022 for Toyota Hilux

    Pickup trucks really look like the god of the road. They are robust, strong, well-built, and have SUV-like handling. In fact they are actually SUVs with and extra bay area. This makes pickup trucks more versatile than SUVs. It’s also a style statement to many people. The Toyota Hilux is a great pickup truck and the twin-cab version offers a Read More

  • F
    Firash May 18, 2022 for Toyota Hilux

    The Hilux is one of the most prominent pickup trucks coming out from the house of Toyota! What sets out the car from the other pickups in the country is the possibility of mods that are available with this car. Besides the endless modifications that can be added to the car, it is all about convenience and power with its Read More

  • F
    Fauzul Apr 26, 2022 for Toyota Hilux

    Who doesn't like a multi-purpose car that can be great in two different ways? I was given an amazing car by my parents on my 24th birthday. It was a Toyota Hilux. Not only could I use it in the city as a regular car, it was perfect for camping. I could easily load things and did not have to Read More

Compare Variants of Toyota Hilux

  • Diesel

Toyota Hilux Alternatives

Get Best Deals

Sell your car at the best price

  • Verified genuine buyers
  • List your car for free
  • Largest Consumer base in Malaysia
List your car

Cars Featured Stories

Toyota Hilux Videos

Watch latest video reviews of Toyota Hilux to know about its interiors, exteriors, performance, mileage and more.

Discover New Cars

  • All Wheel Drive
  • Diesel
  • 5 Seater

Toyota Featured Cars

  • Popular
  • Upcoming

Quick Research on Toyota Hilux